My first upgrade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first upgrade

Okay so I've searched and hunted around for quite a while now. I have gotten a huge amount of info from this place (Thanks greatly) but I still have yet to put anything on my car better than a shift knob.

After checking out the mod encyclopedia I decided that intake and exhaust was the best way to start out (hence all the questions). Okay so here is what I'm looking at getting.

http://www.lmperformance.com/5653/13.html
    http://www.slponline.com/view_produc...23&BIG=28023-1

I have a few last questions though. First, I'm assuming that a new cat would be a wise way to go. Can anyone here point me in the right direction for one? I was considering a catco but am unsure of the correct size. To keep expense down I'd really like it to be around a hundred or less, just so long as its better than stock. Secondly, I have no experience with the installation of headers, cats, and a catback. So I'm assuming its probably best to have a shop put them all on for me. How much can I expect for a reasonable installation price and length of time? I shouldn't have trouble putting in the intake so I'm not worried about that one. Finally, the performancepac states a gain of 150hp, I don't have a clue how much the headers will gain over stock though. Can anyone give me a ballpark figure to what my hp may end up around with the introduction of all these parts? Are these upgrades a wise way to start out?

Oh yeah and one of my most important questions is, how will this setup sound when compared to its almost sickenly silent stock counterpart?

Edit: I'd also like to mention that for those who don't know, this is for the 3.8 01 firebird. If Any of those parts will not work with my car please let me know, thanks.

[ May 28, 2005, 08:59 AM: Message edited by: Wraith2097 ]
    01 V6 Firebird, Flowmaster catback, Navmate gps, B&M Ripper.