Newb question here.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb question here.

Hello guys, I got a question. I've been wanting a new exaust system on my 99 firebird but I don't have the extra cash right now. This evening I stumbled across a craigslist ad containing this.

I have an SLP Loudmouth that was pulled off of a Trans Am. Wasn't used very long, decided to upgrade to the Loudmouth2. It's a 3"in/3"out. $40 isn't firm, just make an offer.
    Just from this info do you know if this would fit on my firebird without any mods? The price seems managable so it would be great if I could grab it. I'm a total noob when it comes to working on cars and any advice will be appreciated.

Re: Newb question here.

Since it's 3" you would have to have a re-sizing coupler at either the catalytic converter, or the y-pipe, whichever you decide to install at. I would get a high flow cat and go from there. And make sure it's from the same model year as your car. Either 93-97 or 98-02. I'm not sure but they might have different exhaust routes.

Comment

Originally posted by Docta View Post
      Since it's 3" you would have to have a re-sizing coupler at either the catalytic converter, or the y-pipe, whichever you decide to install at. I would get a high flow cat and go from there. And make sure it's from the same model year as your car. Either 93-97 or 98-02. I'm not sure but they might have different exhaust routes.
      the exhaust "routes" are the same, but the mounts are not.

I have a 97' dual exhaust on my 98' and i had to make a custom mount for it, but all it consisted of is an exhaust hanger and a bolt

Comment

Originally posted by Docta View Post
        Thanks. I was thinking about it over dinner and remembered the part that said 3"in, I figured I'd need something to adapt the factory pipe to the new system. You confirmed it for me. That puts the project out of my price range for right now.