car newb with camaro starting problem - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

car newb with camaro starting problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• car newb with camaro starting problem

hey guys, been checking out the thread, seems like there are a lot of cool people on here with some great knowledge.

this is going to sound embarassing, but i just started learning about cars. i'm telling you this because what i'm about to ask you will probably sound pretty stupid. but i figure there's only one way to learn, so i'm gonna ask anyway. lol

i have a 93 3.4 camaro. yesterday it wouldn't start. it would crank, so my battery and starter are good, but the engine wouldn't fire up. i checked my ecm/igm fuse, my fuel injector fuses, and those are all good. i checked to see if i had spark going through my spark plug wires. i do. i didn't check to see if had any faulty spark plugs yet, but i'll probably do that tomorrow.

i tried listening for the hum of the fuel pump when i had the keys in start and in on positions. i couldn't hear anything. i don't know if this is normal or not. i also haven't checked the fuel filter.

i also noticed that there was some sort of gunky liquid underneath the injectors/intake plenum. here's a pic of it; hopefully it shows up correctly. i'm so new at this that i'm not even sure what that is. i'm hoping it's not gasoline, and if it is....maybe it's an intake plenum gasket i need to replace? makes sense that a leak from there could prevent starting, but i could be wrong.

anyway, just wanted to get your opinions on what i should also check, or if anyone's had a similar prob also.
    Attached Files

Re: car newb with camaro starting problem

definately dont think its gasoline.. maybe oil or carbon
    sounds like you have an idea of what youre doing, which is correct
    fuel pump is in the trunk of the car if you are listening for it