What problems should I expect with my engine at 150k+ - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What problems should I expect with my engine at 150k+

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What problems should I expect with my engine at 150k+

As my car is nearing the 150k mark I am wondering of any potential problems? I've had the car since August, and since then have put on about 5k miles and especially am racking up the mileage now that I drive about 600-700 miles a week. If you didn't see my other thread here, I am getting great gas mileage(over 400+ on a tank easily). To my knowledge I was told one of the previous owners was a business woman who drove the vehicle majority highway. So with it being adult driven and mainly highway i'm hoping not much abuse. How long can our motors go(btw 1995 3.4 m5 is the car) go? Should I start saving up for a rebuild for the day it goes kaput? I'm a college student so money is tight, but I rely on this car and its my prize possession so yeah. Thank you guys

Re: What problems should I expect with my engine at 150k+

Our cars can take a lickin' and keep on tickin'. An engine can go as far as you want, if you show it the proper care and attention. Tune-ups when they are needed, and as the car gets older, such as the 100k-150k mark you might want to shave a month or a few hundred to 1k miles for certain things. Like oil for instance, you change it every 3000 miles or 3 months, whichever comes first. Well, now you may want to change it ever 2 months or 2000-2500 miles and use oil that is for high mileage cars. I would highly recommend Royal Purple.

So, all in all, just make sure you keep it tuned up, and the engine clean from any dirt, debris and moisture that could possibly build up and create a weak spot on a major part or possibly create rust. Also, at this point, you should probably Seafoam your car as well to get all that carbon build up out of there.