New Rotors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Rotors

How hard is it to install new rotors? My current ones are pretty much shot; I was wondering if it was worth it to pay someone to do the job for me.

Re: New Rotors

Its very easy, I wouldn't pay anyone to do it.Take off the wheels, brake calipers, and then pull off the rotors. Install is the reverse.
    Doug<br />1996 Camaro RS M5 Y87<br />SLP Bilstein shocks, Eibach springs, 1LE frt/rear sway bars

Comment

It's super easy as long as you have the tools. I ran into a small snag with my rears because of an issue with the ebrake, but besides that it only took about 5-1o minutes per corner including taking off the wheels.

Comment

What special tools would I need? Also, would I have to drain the brake fluid? I've never worked on brakes before so all this stuff is new to me.

Comment

Originally posted by MikeA
          What special tools would I need? Also, would I have to drain the brake fluid? I've never worked on brakes before so all this stuff is new to me.
          I just changed all four of my rotors and pads last weekend.
          The only special tool i used was a caliper piston compressor thing it's just a flat plate with a screw in the middle used to push the caliper piston in to change the pads. Sears Item #: 00947365000 . <---That is what i used
          I didnt drain any brake fluid.
          Check out my cardomain site!<br /><a href=\"http://members.cardomain.com/99pewterv6\" target=\"_blank\">My Car</a>

Comment

you do not need a piston compressor, just a standard c-clamp, just put it on one of the edges and screw it in as far as you can, you do not need to bleed any lines

Comment

thanks guys. It doesnt seem too hard, im gonna give it a shot.

Comment

You don't even need a C-clamp. Two large screwdrivers in an X fashion work well.

Make sure you pick up some brake grease and grease your brake bolts. If not, they will get too hot and become weak.