to chip or not to chip?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• to chip or not to chip?

Hey Guys, I've got a 1994 3.4 litre. It's pretty much all stock at the moment. I just got it a couple of months ago and the car is in near mint condition. I guess my problem is that it's got 200,000 kms (120,000 miles) and I'm not sure that I'm willing to invest a lot of money into performance mods with such high mileage. I'm probably going to go with a cold air intake setup pretty soon. And, I've also been thinking about chipping it. I'm a student so I don't have much money to throw at the car and I was considering one of the cheap performance chips off of ebay (under 50 bucks). I don't have any brand in mind yet. My question is, does anyone have any experience with these cheaper chips and do they actually do what they say (increase HP and lower gas consumption) without causing any problems for the car (engine, emissions or ECU)? Also if they are reliable products, does anyone have a particular brand that they would recommend? Thanks for any advice!!!

Re: to chip or not to chip?

don't buy any CHEAP chips off ebay unless it is a jet chip stage 1 or 2, the rest or scams and do nothing.
    http://www.bowtiev6.com/

Comment

the stage 1 and 2 jet chip is about all there is out there for the 3.4. as said above dont waste your money on anything other than a jet chip becuase they are junk.

current car- 95 Trans am- bolt ons, parked and collecting dust. why? because **** it

Follow me!
      http://www.twitch.tv/optimusprymrib
      Or this

Comment

no chip, I would suggest texas speed & performance tune
        2k2 camaro, K&N, SLP whisper lid, Konis, AEM, HP Tuners, Angel eyes/Halos, CF SS ram air hood, 4.10s, Zexel Torsen, UMI SFCs, CrossFire, BFGs, Gatorback, Catco, Flows, and TLC! DONT feed the Trolls!

Comment

Originally posted by slow6
          no chip, I would suggest texas speed & performance tune