rearend gears

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• rearend gears

I've got a 98 Firebird, completely stock except I added a K&N air filter, nothing big. My differential is very SLIGHTLY leaking, but its still there. Since I've got to have a new seal (I've been told thats all I'll need) put in, I figured why not maybe change my gears while everything will be opened up. I'm assuming I have 3.23 gears (since I have a 5 speed), how would 3.42 work for me? This is my daily driver, but I would like to have a fast car, you guys know how it is :D What I'm looking for is faster acceleration, not top end. If I have 3.42 gears installed, would I rev high in 5th gear while cruising at say...55 mph? or even 45? Thanks for any and all comments/suggestions/help. I'm still very new with cars, and I'm still learning. I find it very interesting how cars/engines work...thanks again everybody.

-kirk
    1998 Pontiac Firebird<br />5-speed<br />Navy Blue<br />Only additions so far: Flowmaster Dual Exhaust 80 Series, K&N air filter<br /><br />1989 Ford F150<br />Alpine Green and Tan<br />300/4.9 Inline 6, automatic<br />completely stock- daily beater

well, you can look at the codes inside your door and compare to the list of codes in the Tech. database. if your going to open it up and do all that work, put in LSD too. i would recomend 3.73s if your not worried about anytop end stuff. it will give you some pretty good take off power and no, you rpms will not be up high, around 2K like usually i believe
    2000 3.8 A4 Pewter Camaro

Comment

I just changed from 3.23 to 3.42 ratio. It will throw your speedometer off by appx. 5.5% - so cruising down the highway at an indicated 75mph will actually be closer to 70. You'll be taching 130 more rpm at that speed.

&lt;edited for math&gt;

[ September 28, 2004, 08:50 PM: Message edited by: FunkZ ]