Spark Plug Replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spark Plug Replacement

It's that time... time to replace my spark plugs!
    Now i have never done this before, so what can i expect?
    I've heard it can be a pain in the butt, and i also have heard it's not too bad.
    What's the easiest way to get at the plugs? From the top, the bottom, or would it be better to go in through the wheel well?

I guess my most important question is, what plugs should i use? Should i go with the OEM or do you guys recommend something different?
    2000 Monterey Maroon Chevrolet Camaro<br />3.8L V-6/4spd Auto

http://www.camarov6.com/ubb/ultimate...653;p=1#000001

I just use whatever they have in stock at the auto parts store.
    Matt
    1998 Mystic Teal Camaro M5
    Whisper Lid, Pacesetter Headers, Catco Cat, Dynomax Super Turbo, B&M Shifter, BMR STB, LSD, P&P Intakes, GT2 Cam, Comp OE Lifters, 1.7 Roller Rockers, Pushrods, SSM Heads, DHP PowrTuner.

Comment

I put in a set of NGK iridiums about 2 weeks ago. Took about 30-45 minutes, and I was in no big hurry. My SLP strut tower brace was actually a big help on the driver's side. You can slide the fuel lines under it, and then it holds them out of your way so you can get to the plugs lol

But to answer your question, it's not hard at all. Despite what you may hear, all 6 of them can be changed from under the hood. No need to jack the car up. Now the 93-97's are a different story...
      2000 3.8L Firebird, Silver Metallic<br /><br />\"Yes, London. You know, fish, chips, cup o\' tea, bad food, worse weather, Mary f***in\' Poppins, London!!\"

Comment

**** dude, save yourself a lot of time and effort, and jack the car up and work on it from the bottom. their are so many header plates in the way of the plugs that you have to undo its so time consuming, go from the bottom it is much much easier
        1996 Pontiac Firebird<br />Flowmaster Exhaust, Custom Cold Air Intake, 3.42 gears with LSD

Comment