Motor oil

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motor oil

This is more curiosity more than anything but what kind of motor oil do some of you usually use? I'm interested in some input about what would work better and some pros and cons of what to use. My car has just crossed the 157k mark and I have been using Valvoline Max Life pretty much since I've had it(3 years the 19th of this January) I was wondering if going to a synthetic oil would be beneficial to it or not. I've heard Amsoil is a good one and its something I have access to at my job. Any thoughts, personal experiences or links would be great!

Re: Motor oil

Royal Purple.

Comment

Amsoil

2002 SOM Z28 Camaro - 12.9 @ 104 mph
      1996 3800 Camaro - 13.43 @ 100.77 mph

Project Cars | How To Guides | Scratch Repair | Synthetic Oil

Comment

Royal purple has a third party prove that there oil is better

When amsoil doesn't.

Not that I care, maybe you do.

I use royal purple oil with k&n filter. But in my truck I use amsoil. I get wholesale price now so probably all my cars are gonna get it.

But yes, for your car I would suggest a synthetic even though some of the high mileage ones or whatever are some what of a synthetic blend regardless.

Mobile1 is also a good oil.. But these are all also expensive. Are we're not all driving race cars with built motors.
        Wait, Is that a V6 or V8?
        1990 Chevrolet C-K 1500 series 4.3L .. 5spd
        1994 JDM Euno Roadster 1.8L 5spd Bolt Ons.. etc
        2000 Camaro 3.8L Auto Bolt Ons..etc

Comment

I've ran Brad Penn oil in my Firebird the last 2 oil changes and am pleased with it. 5,000 miles when it's drained and it's still silky smooth.. Before that, Mobil1 full synthetic which i liked, and continue to run in my truck. Brad Penn oil is a little expensive as well, but I get wholesale pricing due to where I work.
          aka FreedStyle
          Chaddrich Freed

(1 of 443) 2002 SLP Firebird GT #107 (244rwhp/254rwtq naturally aspirated)