1998 V6 A4, 139,000 miles...should I buy? - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1998 V6 A4, 139,000 miles...should I buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1998 V6 A4, 139,000 miles...should I buy?

OK, here's the story.

The camaro bug has bitten me again, and now that I'm newly single, I figure I might try to find one. Only issue is I don't have a lot of money to spend.

My current car, 2002 Grand AM GT, has 89,000 miles and has been dead reliable. What should I be looking for, caution wise, on this 1998 camaro? A4, 139,000 miles. Is that too many miles to buy and expect reliability?

FWIW...I used to be a gen tech mod here :p But it's been a LONG time, and I've never dealt with an F-body with this many miles. Any insight would be appreciated.
    2011 Camaro LS 6M, in black.

Re: 1998 V6 A4, 139,000 miles...should I buy?

whats the price?
    sigpic

Comment

It depends on what's been done. From what I've noticed stuff starts wearing out fast at about 110k I've had to replace basically everything but the engine in the last 15k, and now my fuel gauge won't get off full.

Comment

First thing I would do is check for antifreeze mud. If the antifreeze has never been changed out it could potentially have cooling problems.

Comment

They were asking 5600 for it I believe. I'm going to pass on it though. Salesman was a douche anyway... But it had the 3.08 gears, sub box in the back (which I don't have the time to get out and get rid of) what appeared to be mildew/water damage on the passenger side headliner from what was most likely T Top leakage, and a lot of peeling on the interior trim. One of the T Tops was missing the key lock too.

Comment

yea id pass. you can find something like that for around 3500 here.
            Dave:
            00 Supercharged Camaro - RIP
            97 Turbo Camaro - Sold

Comment