LT1 to get twin turboed or supercharged - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

LT1 to get twin turboed or supercharged

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LT1 to get twin turboed or supercharged

I posted this on one of the LT1 technical forums elsewhere, but since you guys seem to be more involved with tuning your cars, I'll probably get better feedback here.

------
    I recently purchased a 96 LT1 engine, 40k miles on it, mint condition, to replace my 3.4L engine.

Since i'm new to forced induction, and for my bad luck I'm from Europe (no lt1/ls1 parts here duh) - I'd like to get prepared before starting to mount the turbos/supercharger and intercoolers.

Can some of you share some insight into what forged internals should I get, where should I get them from (webshop addresses would be great) and more or less what prices should I expect to run that 10-12 PSI ?

Much appriciate your input !

post 2
    ----
    Just coming back from my tuners garage, it wont be a twin turbo setup, but a supercharger. There's one available for me at the moment, capacity up to 1.2 Bar, 1200 hp. Thus i'm looking at +-20 PSI boost at full capacity.

If the 1 psi = 20 hp rule applies, then I should reach about my target with that - above 500 hp on the wheels. With the 1 to 20 rule i should be pushing 20*20+305 = +-700 hp on the cam.

What forged internals should i foresee already ?

Re: LT1 to get twin turboed or supercharged

1-20 might be a bit on the high side.

you are gonna need a new fuel system to push 20 psi

also I think your octane levels over there are high enough to push 20 psi via pump gas

Comment

You'd make a much better power band/more top end power with a well setup TT kit
      Juiced Rally Red 98 A4<br /><br />Way too much to list....<br /><br /> <a href=\"http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2263415\" target=\"_blank\">http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2263415</a>

Comment