Amp suggestion?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp suggestion?

I just won myself two MTX Thunder 6000 series 10 inchers on ebay. So now I'm looking for an amp and the proper setup to make then hit.

here are the specs I belive.

Imped. - 4 Ohms
    Frequecy - 31hz-150hz
    Peak Music Power - 500 watts
    Power Handeling (RMS/Total) - 150/500
    Sensitivity - 85.2dB
    Voice Coil - 2"

Ok.. so what amp should I use to run these two? What type of setup.. and why and what the hell are u talking about [img]graemlins/dunce.gif[/img] . Also what does RMS mean/do? I want the most thump for the bump [img]smile.gif[/img] Basically I want these to hit as hard as they can just under the breaking point (I !!DO NOT want to blow them).

Please help me and give me good advice.. I'm new to car audio... well audio in general. PLZ

[ December 13, 2002: Message edited by: JVT007 ]</p>

Ok first off, how much money are you willing to spend? Hifonics Son of Boltar I think will be good to power these, just make sure you turn the gain down, as it is 350Wx2 I think, plus it will allow you to grow. I personally think that Hifonics makes some pretty good stuff. Since you want longivity out of these speakers, I would suggest putting them in a sealed box, which helps them last longer, and will also hit cleaner and harder. But it won't be as loud as a ported box.