I'm a newbie and need to drop the transmission asap - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a newbie and need to drop the transmission asap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a newbie and need to drop the transmission asap

I sold (potentially) my transmission in my car as I'm doing a partial part out, and I need to drop the transmission. I've never done anything of this magnitude and could really use all the help.

What kinda tools will and a need and can someone give me a "dummies" version of how to remove this? Thanks!

Re: I'm a newbie and need to drop the transmission asap

manual or auto?

not sure exactly on the auto, but i know on the manual-

remove shifter from top
    remove wire harness on tranny
    remove bolts from tranny to block- size is 17mm or 18mm cant remember, swivels and extensions needed most likely
    push in white clip on steel braided line going to slave cylinder and pull line out
    unbolt driveshaft from rear end- 4 bolts
    unbolt torque arm from tranny
    unbolt the tranny mount ( in center of cross member brace)
    jack up transmission and remove the 4 bolts from cross member
    slide tranny back, drop it down once the input shaft has cleared the clutch
    Last edited by Fondle; 04-20-2010, 12:14 AM.

Comment

if you want to remove a manual, you also need to drop the driveshaft, the torque arm, and also the support braces on the side of the transmission.

you have to take the bellhousing off with the transmission, because the slave cylinder gets in the way

Comment

DOH! It was late last night and didn't realize I didn't mention the car. It's a 95' 3.4 V6, 5-speed.

Thanks for the info guys, I have a rough idea what all those parts are, so I may be posting more questions tomorrow if I have any problems. Thanks

Comment

all you should need is basic sockets 10mm-18mm, a swivel, and some extensions, and obviously a jack and jack stands

Comment