A few questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A few questions.

As I am still very new to the V6 world I have a few questions.
    1. What are our valve covers made of and can they be polished?
    2. I want to port and polish my intake, Do I need to port and polish both upper and lower? I have not seen the inside of our engine yet.
    2000 Firebird A4, 3.42 LSD, K&N, Free Cold Air, PaceSetter, 3" in/out Catco, 3" S-Pipe, 3" Intermidiate Pipe, 2.5" Flowmaster 80

Re: A few questions.

1 alumin i think, yes go for it
    2 this might mess up your AFR, and might get metal shavings inside the engine
    i wouldnt do it
    2k2 camaro, K&N, SLP whisper lid, Konis, AEM, HP Tuners, Angel eyes/Halos, CF SS ram air hood, 4.10s, Zexel Torsen, UMI SFCs, CrossFire, BFGs, Gatorback, Catco, Flows, and TLC! DONT feed the Trolls!

Comment

I'm not worried about metal shavings, everything would be clean before putting it on. I'm thinking about a cam swap this summer. Before that time I want to pick up a set of heads, intake and valve covers. I can spend the next few months getting everything ported and polished. This way when I'm ready I just have to swap parts.
      2000 Firebird A4, 3.42 LSD, K&N, Free Cold Air, PaceSetter, 3" in/out Catco, 3" S-Pipe, 3" Intermidiate Pipe, 2.5" Flowmaster 80

Comment

It has been a loooong time, but I have done the work before. The last time was about 20 years ago. I had a 72 Chevelle with a 350. It put out about 375 HP.

Comment

1. yes, aluminum, as I have already polished some before.
          2. you should, along w/the almighty gasket match. extrude honing would be best, if you have the $$$$$$ to cover it.
          1978 Formula 461 in progress of being built :rock:
          2013 Ram 1500 Big Horn

former owner of 85 bird w/ 2.8 - 3.4 - 3800 II - 5.0
          94 comero 3.4

Comment