I'm at a crossroads

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm at a crossroads

Sitting here, working on a side project in PHP I decided to do for fun, I've realized I'm not sure what I want to do.

I run my own wedding video production business in my spare time, but I'm only in my 2nd year so I don't have very many clients. I love video production, nothing is more satisfying to me then shooting an (average) wedding, where everything goes wrong. Editing it, and making it look like how it was suppose to happen, giving it back to the bride, and have her tell me how it had her in tears.

Now I don't just do weddings, although that's all I've done so far. I'd like to break into the corporate world and do commercials, training videos ect, because thats where the real money is. Because for me to go full time doing just weddings, I would litterally have to do one wedding a week for the entire year. Now a fully edited wedding video takes about 80 hours of total work. My base package is $1200, so I'm only making roughly 15/hr. If I do 54 weddings/year I'd be making about 65k/year gross.

Now that may seem like a lot, but there is alot of overhead in this business. I have about 10k invested in equipment, and I don't even have 1/4 of what I really need. I can easily spend 50k and still need to buy more. But I still need atleast 10k more in equipment to buy just to have the 'basics' to do corporate work. Which means atleast 10 weddings, so far I have a big fat 0 booked for this year. but if I do get off the ground, it would take atleast 5 more years before I start turning a profit, but I could possibly/really make money. The average price for a corporate job is $75-200/hr. You can see thats why I want to do it, but I could very easily dump $50k into equipment and go bankrupt.