retro trend

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• retro trend

Even though I like a lot of these new retro designs, it feels like R&D people are taking the easy way out instead of coming up with truly new ideas. I guess it is interesting though... maybe Ford will bring back the model T?

BTW, I haven't been keeping up but I was reading some threads found from googling saying that if the new Camaro tanks, then GM will bring back the firebird. Any truth to this? Is the firebird truly dead or is it just hibernating?
    \'96 dark green V6 Firebird<br />Y87 Performance package<br />front license plate with silver firebird insignia<br />alpine CD deck<br />T-top<br />Tinted windows @ 27%<br />low mileage (just broke 45000 not long ago!)<br /><br />waiting for first performance mod :)

I am not a designer, but I imagine it is difficult to take styling cues from the 70s and work them into something that still works on a late model.

I have not been happy with a lot of late model designs anyway. Having headlights that come up to the wheel-wells is just ugly. bubble tailights? eck. And WTF has Hyundai been thinking with every single car? So maybe designers were running out of good ideas?

http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/799659

Comment

The only retro design I think I like is the new mustang. I think it looks good. I will never own one, because it is a mustang lol, but I like the outside appearance. I think the new camaro's bodystyle/appearance is hideous. Not to mention have you seen what the designers have been doing with the interiors of these cars? At work the people who work outside and not in the office got new F150's and the interiors are so confused. There is a horrible mixture of squares and circles.

What ever happened to smooth styling and aerodynamics?

Comment

When its time for a bodystyle update/change... That's when we will see if the retro designers screwed themselves over...