Confession to make: I'm a cop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confession to make: I'm a cop

Ok, well, not really. But I do have a funny / interesting story to tell.

Last summer, a friend and I were cruising around the neighborhood. We both have Z28s, his a 2002 dark blue with T-Tops, and mine the white 1998 hard top. We were cruising very slowly through a construction zone in a low income residential neighborhood when we almost came to a complete stop for a bump. My friend Doug was in the other seat, and we were talking to my friend Rich (directly in front of us) on our walkie talkies.

Well, Doug looks out the side window at this skinny, sickly looking white guy sitting on his porch drinking a can of Busch, and says "How's it going."

To our surprise he says "Alright officer, thank you."

So we both suppress a smile, then Doug gives him the "officer nod" and says "Be safe." and we drive off. [img]graemlins/rofl.gif[/img]

Flash forward to last month. I was at Stewarts on my lunch break, and this guy in line taps me on the shoulder. The conversation goes like this:

Him: "Where do I know you from?"
    Me : "I really have no idea."
    Him: "you work in corrections?"
    Me : "No, I don't."
    Him: "Are you a cop?"
    Me : "No, I'm not a cop."
    Him: "Damn, you look so familiar. Are you sure you're not a police officer?"
    Me : "Quite sure. Bye."

Well, flash forward to tonight. I was just out taking a drive, just trying to clear my head a little bit, and as I was entering my neighborhood a young (maybe early 20s) black guy was standing on the corner by the red light I was stopping at. I had my windows down, so I looked over and gave him a little nod. The conversation went like this:

Him: "how's it going officer."
    Me : "not bad, and you?"
    Him: "good, Officer, real good, thanks"
    Him: "hey! nice car!"
    Me : "thanks, man, I appreciate that!"
    Him: "they pay that much on the force?!"
    Me : "hmm?"