This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pulling the tranny (5-speed)

So since I have some recent experience and alot of questions have been asked. Figure we coudl make a thread about pulling the 5-speed. Good to go over and read.

1st off.
    -Get a plug for the tail of the tranny, even though you drain the transmission you will not drain it all. You could also leave the driveshaft in but thats a pain in the butt. I got a plug with a transmission I got shipped from a junkyard in georgia.

-Alot of manuals talk about pulling the starter. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO. Its not terrible hard but your arm gets tired holding it up and lining the bolts up.

I think the reason it is listed is you need to remove the inspection cover(like 6 bolts) but you can only unbolt it, you cannot take it 100% off, because it goes around the starter, but once you pull the tranny out it will fall off. And when you put it back on you have to hang it on the starter. If you have to pull the flywheel, you might as well just take it off though.

-Buy a crapload of extensions for your sockets and some nice swivels. I got some impact wrench swivels at harbour freight for cheap, like $7.99 for 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 drive, pretty sturdy too. It makes those hard to reach spots ALOT easier.

when you pull and put the tranny in keep an eye on the top of the bellhouseing, it will hit the transmission tunnel you have to lower and go back at the same time, and lift and go forward at the same time going forward.
    -Eric<br /><a href=\"http://www.cardomain.com/id/mustangeater82\" target=\"_blank\">2000 NBM V6 Camaro 5-speed</a> T-top <i>converted</i><br /><b>14.467@95.45mph</b> <i>$0 in mods</i><br /><i>The member formerly known as MustangEater8251</i>

Get some pics posted and complete the writeup! This should be a sticky because everyone with a M/5 always asks about a clutch replacement.
    sigpic

Comment