No more chevy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No more chevy

The highly paid government managers at Government Motors have just come up with a brilliant idea - Stop using the name "Chevy" and always use "Chevrolet" instead.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/10/au...s/10chevy.html

BRILLIANT!!!!

Umm ... As of right now, www.chevrolet.com home page reads "Over 1,000 people a day switch to Chevy."

I guess they did not get the memo. :spank::slap:
    I solemnly swear I am up to no good.

2008 Saturn Sky Red Line - Midnight Blue

Pewter Mafia - 2000 Firebird - SOLD
    CENTRAL FLORIDA KNIGHTS!!!!!!!
    FLORIDA STATE SEMINOLES !!!!!!!

Re: No more chevy

ya theyre some smart people

87 Firebird RIP
    96 Camaro RS RIP
    94 Patriot Red 1LE Z28 - Sold
    02 WS6 TA - Sold

Comment

I'm studying brand identity, so this change intrigues me... The first thing that comes to mind is "fixing something that isn't broken." Also there are far better ways to promote their brand other than annoying the diehard chevrolet fan by destroying a part of it.

The more I think about it the more idiotic it sounds. 20 years from now if a kid hears the song verse "took my chevy to the levee but the levee was dry" are they gonna look at their dad and ask "hey, what's a chevy?" "Oh, it's a chevrolet, son. GM went through a dumbass marketing phase around 2010."

Like that article says, every successful company has a nickname. And they want to destroy it? Genius.
      sigpic

Comment

For a minute there I thought there were going to axe it like they did with Pontiac. Chevy is GM's cash cow.

1998 Firebird . 1989 Firebird XS . 1986 Fiero GT

Comment

Originally posted by Mighty Thor View Post
          For a minute there I thought there were going to axe it like they did with Pontiac. Chevy is GM's cash cow.
          ya i thought it was going to say they were going to change the name completely

but still a dumb move

Comment